Worship, Resiliency, Humility

This is part of the series How Worship Contributes to Resiliency.

Pointing beyond Oneself

Strong, mature, resilient people are not all wrapped up in themselves. Perhaps it is counter-intuitive, but loving and serving others makes you stronger. As the supposed prayer of Saint Francis says, “It is in giving that we receive.”  At a minimum, sharing the sufferings of others puts my own problems in perspective.

When I come to worship, I discover that the life is not centered on me. The triune God is the focus of our worship. God loves the entire world. Jesus came to seek and save the lost. The Spirit gives gifts that build up the body, and every part is needed. I am commanded to love my neighbor as myself and to give to the poor and to humbly serve my brothers and sisters as a slave. We pray for the church and the world and all in need. We ask, “thy kingdom come, thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.” Everything in worship points me beyond myself, and that’s good for me.

