The Wrong Kind of Christian in Academia

Tish Harrison Warren writes at Christianity Today about being the wrong kind of Christian in the academic world:

I thought I was an acceptable kind of evangelical.

I’m not a fundamentalist. My friends and I enjoy art, alcohol, and cultural engagement. We avoid spiritual clichés and buzzwords. We value authenticity, study, racial reconciliation, and social and environmental justice.

Being a Christian made me somewhat weird in my urban, progressive context, but despite some clear differences, I held a lot in common with unbelieving friends. We could disagree about truth, spirituality, and morality, and remain on the best of terms. The failures of the church often made me more uncomfortable than those in the broader culture.

Then, two years ago, the student organization I worked for at Vanderbilt University got kicked off campus for being the wrong kind of Christians.

The author works for InterVarsity Christian Fellowship (an organization I have admired since my college days) and is an ordained priest in the Anglican Church in North America.

1 thought on “The Wrong Kind of Christian in Academia”

  1. In reading the whole article, I get the impression that the administrators at Vanderbilt are more worried about legal matters than anything else. They also have a very out-dated sense of what a Christian is.

    Like

Comments are closed.