Let Me Cultivate My Garden

When I am tempted to respond to every post, tweet and news story on the web, when I am riled by every wrong opinion, fallacious argument, misstatement of the facts, twisted rhetoric and hateful pundit, I try to think of Candide’s final response to the many arguments of Doctor Pangloss:

“All that is very well,” answered Candide, “but let us cultivate our garden.”

Let me cultivate my own garden. Let me do the work that I am called to do. I am much more content when I am not drawn into other peoples’ arguments or build my words on other people’s logic. I am happiest when I simply write about the things that interest me, say the things that I think need to be said, and attempt to convey how I see the world from my little corner, even if that fits into no one else’s agenda.

