Elizabeth the Prophet

… and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit. In a loud voice she exclaimed: “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the child you will bear! But why am I so favored, that the mother of my Lord should come to me? As soon as the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the baby in my womb leaped for joy. Blessed is she who has believed that the Lord would fulfill his promises to her!” Luke 1:41-45

Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit. When she spoke to Mary, she wasn’t just sharing her experiences or opinions or insights. She cried out in a loud voice as a prophet under divine inspiration.

O Mary, blessed art thou among women,
And blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.
Blessed is she that believed:
For there shall be a performance of those things
which were told her from the Lord.

